Say My Name

Untitled - 122

Walt takes control of business matters as Mike grapples with the consequences of his actions.

Breaking Bad Season Five, Episode Seven “Say My Name” – [Official Text Credit: amctv.com]

~ Favourites ~

Favourite Declan line – “Alright. Ok, so um, if we just waste you, right here right now, leave you in the desert, then there is no more Coke on the market, right? See how that works? That leaves only us.”

Favourite Walt line – “Do you really want to live in a world without Coca Cola?”

Favourite Hank line – “How’s that restraining order working out for ya?”

Favourite Saul line – “I got you on speaker phone with the brain trust – Walt and Jesse are here.”

Favourite Mike line – “You just had to blow it up! You, and your pride and your ego!”

Favourite Jesse line – “Mr. White, uh, I think that nothing has changed for me. I just want to get my money and get out.”

Favourite Jesse/Walt exchange –

Untitled - 156

Walter: “All the people that we’ve killed – Gale… and the rest. If you believe that there’s a Hell – I don’t know if you’re into that – but we’re already pretty much going there. But I’m not gonna lie down until I get there.”

Jesse: “What, just because I don’t want to cook meth any more, I’m lying down? How many more people are gonna die ’cause of us?”

Walter: “No one. None. Now that we’re in control, no one else gets hurt.”

Jesse: “You keep saying that and it’s bullshit every time! Always!”

Favourite Mike/Jesse Exchange –

Mike: “When I’m out, I’m out”
Jesse: “I’m out too, Mike.”
Mike: “Kid, just look out for yourself.”

Favourite Skyler/Jesse exchange –

Jesse: “Vamonos”
Skyler: “I wish.”

Favourite scenes –

Untitled - 148

Mike parks his getaway car in row K, for Kaylee.

Untitled - 168

Watching the Schticky ad, lol.. in the midst of another great montage set to “Goin’ Down” by The Monkees which interestingly was the B side to Daydream Believer.

Notable Music – “Goin’ Down” by The Monkees plays as Walt and Todd cook for the first time (on Youtube)

Ending Song – The Breaking Bad theme composed by Dave Porter

Jesse Lightbulb Moment –  Wanting to take the bag to Mike. We wish you did too, Jesse!

Notable Shots –

Untitled - 180

Interesting lighting in the Walt/Hank scene, with that rainbow of light across him. How is that even possible with the blinds closed? I think this might have a larger meaning as when you look at the lighting in that office, it is all wrong to create that rainbow.

Untitled - 196

This is such a gorgeous location.

Episode Running Time on DVD – 47m17s

DVD Extras – Inside Breaking Bad – Say My Name; Inside Breaking Bad – Making of Say My Name; Extended Scene: “I’m Gonna Kill That Guy”; Commentary with Vince Gilligan, Bryan Cranston, Aaron Paul, Jonathan Banks, Thomas Schnauz and Skip Macdonald

Insider podcast – Breaking Bad editor Kelley Dixon discusses Episode 507 “Say My Name” with Vince Gilligan, Melissa Bernstein, Tom Schnauz, Bob Odenkirk. Running time 1 hour 36 minutes 7 seconds. Click here for the MP3 file. Click here for podcasts via the Apple iTunes store – podcasts are free.

Links to other reviews of this episode – AV ClubAlan SepinwallTV Critic

Snoskred Notes –

Emmy Nominations for this episode – Bryan Cranston for lead actor – Jonathon Banks for supporting actor

Untitled - 176

I love this moment for Gomez.

We got a new montage this week – the paying of the guys via safe deposit boxes montage.

This is the episode where I really start to wish for a Jesse/Skyler hookup of some kind. No, it does not have to be sexual – though let us remember, Jesse is into MILFs – but I really think these two could work together against Walt, if required. That scene at the carwash.. just a few words but there are huge sparks of chemistry there! Maybe they could vamonos together, with at least half of Walt’s money.

Is this the episode where I finally start to dislike Walt? It would be good for me to be able to say yes. The way he talks to Jesse about the money.. he is awful. What he does to Mike is unnecessary and unforgivable and purely egotistical. And yet.. I somehow do find it difficult to dislike him.

Untitled - 208

It is a sad goodbye to Mike. 😦

The science of Breaking Bad – Say My Name

Episode Count –

Fifty-three episodes down, 9 to go

Got a thought? Share it here!

