Bug

Untitled - 111

Skyler’s past mistakes come back to haunt her. Gus takes action to thwart his rivals. Jesse seeks Walt’s help, with mixed results.

Breaking Bad Season Four, Episode Nine “Bug” – [Official Text Credit: amctv.com]

~ Favourites ~

Favourite Skyler line – “When I input everything into the Quicken, nothing flashed red so thats gotta mean its ok, right”

Favourite Hank line – “Yeah yeah yeah I get it, you don’t have to paint me a picture. Probably one guy in a diaper is enough for this trip anyway.”

Favourite Gus line – “I have invited you into my home, prepared food, so we could sit and talk. Discuss what’s going on in this business. Our business. Like men. And I will explain everything that’s happening. I will answer your questions.”

Favourite Mike line – “Shut your mouth. You shut your mouth or I’ll shut it for you. I don’t want you talking to me or Jesse. Just get the barrel. And if you ever plan on calling the cops on one of my guys again, you go ahead and get two barrels.”

Favourite Walt line – “So, what? Is this going to be a regular thing now? Meth cooking and corpse disposal? Jesus…”

Favourite Jesse line – “You wanna talk like men? Let’s talk like men: you kill Mr. White, you’re gonna have to kill me, too!”

Favourite Jesse/Walt exchange –

Untitled - 172

Jesse: How did you know I was at his house last night? Were you following me?
Walter: This. This is how I knew. [tosses the GPS tracker to Jesse]
Jesse: You bugged my car?
Walter: 7:10 to 9:28 pm. 2 hours and 18 minutes. But you had no intentions, did you? Not the slightest intention.
Jesse: Everything that I have done for you…
Walter: Oh ho!
Jesse: …you put a bug on my car?!
Walter: I’m sorry, after everything you’ve done for me? What you’ve done for me?! You’ve killed me is what you’ve done! You signed my death warrant! And now you want advice? Alright, I’ll give you advice: go to Mexico and screw up like I know you will and wind up in a barrel somewhere!

Favourite scenes –

Untitled - 142

Shootout at the chicken corral. That scene – which is quite short – is extremely intense.

Untitled - 151

And Gus just walking out like that.. wow.

Untitled - 164

Skyler the ditzy broad. I love how she calls it “The Quicken”. ROFL!

Notable Music – “Hyperactive!” by Thomas Dolby On Youtube plays in the carwash when Ted visits.

Ending Song – The Breaking Bad theme composed by Dave Porter

Jesse Lightbulb Moment – In this case, it is one line he says to Walt. “Then get the fuck outta here and never come back”

Notable Shots –

Untitled - 108

The opening teaser – and we wait to find out what was going on right till the end of the episode!

Untitled - 116

Love this shot of Hank and Marie land.

Untitled - 158

Mike Vs Walt. Even though this was just words, Ouch!

Episode Running Time on DVD – 47m09s

DVD Extras – Inside Breaking Bad – Bug; Inside Breaking Bad – Walt & Jesse’s Fight Commentary with Vince Gilligan, Dean Norris, Christopher Cousins, Michelle MacLaren, Melissa Bernstein, Thomas Schnauz and Moira Walley-Beckett

Insider podcast – Breaking Bad editor Kelley Dixon discusses Episode 409 “Bug” with Vince Gilligan, Tom Schnauz, Diane Mercer. Running time 48m16s. Click here for the MP3 file. Click here for podcasts via the Apple iTunes store – podcasts are free.

Links to other reviews of this episode – AV ClubAlan SepinwallThe TV Critic

Snoskred Notes –

Untitled - 157

I will just mention, in this episode, you see a different Skyler at the tax offices. However some of us who are Law & Order fans have sort of seen this particular personality before from Anna Gunn. In 2010, Anna Gunn guest starred in one episode of Law & Order. This was the second episode of the final season of Law & Order titled “Love Eternal”. If you see this episode, you will see the beginnings of this particular Skyler personality.

The science of Breaking Bad – Bug

Episode Count –

Forty-two episodes down, 20 to go

Got a thought? Share it here!

