Shotgun

Untitled - 252

When Jesse goes missing, Walt fears the worst. Skyler has an unlikely reunion. Hank shares some bad news with Detective Tim Roberts.

Breaking Bad Season Four, Episode Five “Shotgun” – [Official Text Credit: amctv.com]

~ Favourites ~

Favourite Walt line – “The sheets, they smell different than I remember”

Favourite Skyler line – “Maybe you should move back in.”

Favourite Walt Jr line – “Oh god.”

Favourite Hank line – “I got your wipedown right here, pal.”

Favourite Marie line – “Like the Gerber baby”

Favourite Gus line – “Questions?”

Favourite Mike line – “Jesse’s with me today, so what you need to do is to go back to your lab and get on with the cook..”

Favourite Jesse line – “Its finally hitting me what the plan is here.. its to bore me to death, so, mission accomplished because it is totally working, great job.”

Favourite Jesse/Walt exchange –

Untitled - 323

Walter: “Jesse. Jesse! What happened yesterday? Where were you?”

Jesse: “I was out with Mike helping make pickups.”

Walter: “Picking up what?”

Jesse: ” Cash, dead drops. Mike made the pickups and I guarded him.”

Walter: “You…guarded Mike? What is this, some kind of a joke?”

Jesse: ” And you know what? Two dudes tried to rob us and I saved the stash. I took care of business, just like I’m taking care of business right now. You want to stand there dicking around or do you want to suit up and get to work? Get in gear yo, if you want to do this because I’m meeting up with Mike this afternoon.”

Walter: “What, again? Why?”

Jesse: “Guess I have two jobs now.”

Favourite Mike/Jesse Exchange –

Untitled - 304

Mike: “You are not the guy. You’re not capable of being the guy. I had a guy but now I don’t. You are not the guy.”
Jesse: “Then what the hell am I doing here?”
Mike: “I don’t know! It’s not my call! I just do what I’m told and now you’re gonna do what you’re told, which is to sit here, shut up, and stay in the car until we finish our pickups! You got it?”

Favourite scenes –

Untitled - 256

Great teaser with Desperate Walt.

Untitled - 260

Everything with Mike and Jesse was amazing. I love these two guys together. They have almost as brilliant chemistry as Jesse and Walt.

Untitled - 283

I LOVE the time lapse montage, and Mike’s unimpressed faces throughout. And if you play it real slow, there is a part where Jesse is de-wedgeying himself, rofl lol.

Untitled - 295

This scene was quite the surprise to me. I did not see this event in our future.

Untitled - 294

I love Walt Jr working out what is going on behind closed doors and being somewhat horrified by it.

Untitled - 299

I love Walt being unable to cope without Jesse and having trouble with the forklift.

Untitled - 333

Welcome back to Gus. We missed you.

Untitled - 335

Walt, you really ought to stay off the booze, because Hank had let the whole Heisenberg thing go.. but now..

Untitled - 339

“Since when do vegans eat fried chicken?”

Notable Music – “1977” by Ana Tijoux (on youtube) plays during the pickups montage & montage of Walt cooking alone.

Ending Song – The Breaking Bad theme composed by Dave Porter

Jesse Lightbulb Moment – Using the car as a weapon against the person with a shotgun.

Notable Shots –

Untitled - 253

Some really stunning wide shots in this episode.

Untitled - 275

This shot could not be framed any better, I love it.

Untitled - 279

They found some amazing locations for these dead drop scenes.

Untitled - 281

I love the lens flare on this shot.

Episode Running Time on DVD – 45m 17s

DVD Extras – Inside Breaking Bad – Shotgun; Commentary on “Shotgun” with Vince Gilligan, Bryan Cranston, Aaron Paul, Jonathan Banks, Michelle MacLaren, Dave Porter and Thomas Schnauz; The Invisible Driver

Insider podcast – Breaking Bad editor Kelley Dixon discusses Episode 405 “Shotgun” with Vince Gilligan, Tom Schnauz, Michelle MacLaren, Betsy Brandt, Jonathan Banks, Dean Norris. Running time 47m44s. Click here for the MP3 file. Click here for podcasts via the Apple iTunes store – podcasts are free.

Links to other reviews of this episode – AV ClubAlan SepinwallThe TV Critic

Snoskred Notes –

Untitled - 255

I love this episode. And I love Cynthia, the manager of the Los Pollos Hermanos we know about. There are other ones but we do not see those.

Untitled - 261

And j’adore Aaron Paul, with or without hair. His eyes really stand out with the shaved head.

Untitled - 271

And I love the idea of the dead drops, that in various secret places around ABQ, there are these stashes of money.

Untitled - 297

Jesse is not the only one having a haircut – Skyler has too, and with it a change of attitude, and then some, lol..

Untitled - 319

Walt Jr (RJ Mitte) is turning into one heck of a gorgeous man.

The science of Breaking Bad – Shotgun

Episode Count –

Thirty-eight episodes down, 24 to go

Got a thought? Share it here!

