Bullet Points

Untitled - 175

The Cartel takes steps to gain the upper hand. Walt and Skyler share an embarrassing secret with the rest of the family. Jesse’s activities draw unwanted attention.

Breaking Bad Season Four, Episode Four “Bullet Points” – [Official Text Credit: amctv.com]

~ Favourites ~

Favourite Walt line – “Where is the “I slept with my boss” bullet point? Because I can’t seem to find that anywhere”

Favourite Skyler line – “For a fired school teacher who cooks crystal meth, I say you’re coming out pretty much ahead.”

Favourite Hank line – “Right here, here at the top, it says, “To W.W. My star, my perfect silence.” W.W. I mean, who do you figure that is, y’know? Woodrow Wilson? Willy Wonka? Walter White?”

Favourite Marie line – “You are so very hilarious.”

Favourite Saul line – “You know, FYI, you can buy a paddle.”

Favourite Mike line – “You’re on thin ice, you little shithead”

Favourite Jesse line – “Smoke it up bitches!”

Favourite Jesse/Walt exchange –

Untitled - 206

Walter: “Listen, We’ve got to go over this step by step, everything. I want you to tell me exactly what happened from the moment you got there”

Jesse: “I got in, I got out.”

Walter: “No, no, I need to know, specifics!”

Favourite scenes –

Untitled - 180

Great teaser with Mike the Iced

Untitled - 179

And the Mike the Icer.

Untitled - 183

Gale’s Karaoke DVD – And do not fear. You can catch the video as an extra on the DVD for season four. Also, you see the *whole* thing on Youtube. – I love this character and he is actually a really great singer I think!

Untitled - 233

Jesse has a new hairstyle. So now we have three nearly or totally bald men on the show. Mike, Walt, Jesse. I think this really suits him though.

Untitled - 211

Did you notice that Saul is matching his outfit to the Wayfarer 515 ribbon? I love all these little call backs to the past. This scene is the first we are hearing of Saul’s disappear-er-er. I suspect, it will not be the last.

Untitled - 244

Whoa, wait a minute, who is this naked in Jesse’s bed?

A very important scene occurs in this episode. It goes a little like this –

Untitled - 195

Hank: [looking at Gale’s lab notes] Right here, here at the top, it says, “To W.W. My star, my perfect silence.” W.W. I mean, who do you figure that is, y’know? Woodrow Wilson? Willy Wonka? Walter White?

Untitled - 194

Walter: [jokingly, laughing] Heh. You got me!

Untitled - 230

So where is Mike taking Jesse? Find out next week, in one of my all time favourite Breaking Bad episodes..

Notable Music – “The 808 Track” by Bassnectar (on youtube) plays when Jesse returns home from work.

Ending Song – The Breaking Bad theme composed by Dave Porter

Jesse Lightbulb Moment – Paying some people to remove Walter White from his house. Nice work, Jesse!

Notable Shots –

Untitled - 202

See the reflection of Walt in Jesse’s eye here?

Untitled - 203

A closer view.

Untitled - 243

Money Cam

Episode Running Time on DVD – 43m 22s

DVD Extras – Inside Breaking Bad – Bullet Points – Inside Season 4; Gale’s Karaoke Video; Commentary on “Bullet Points” with Vince Gilligan, Dean Norris, Bob Odenkirk, Melissa Bernstein, Colin Bucksey and Moira Walley-Beckett.

Insider podcast – Breaking Bad editor Kelley Dixon discusses Episode 404 “Bullet Points” with Vince Gilligan, Michelle MacLaren, Bryan Cranston. Running time 33 minutes. Click here for the MP3 file. Click here for podcasts via the Apple iTunes store – podcasts are free.

Links to other reviews of this episode – AV ClubAlan SepinwallThe TV Critic

Snoskred Notes –

Another one of those episode names which has many meanings. A truck which meets the pointy end of many bullets, the bullet points Skyler has written down, points about the bullet Jesse used vs Gale.

Untitled - 187

Skyler is wearing one of my favourite cardigans she ever wears in the playing cards with Walt scene – that dark forest green one.

And it is a good thing, because this is one of the times that she is the most annoying to me, with all her tag team the narrative, scripting, etc. I just wanna smack her in the face, and roll her for the cardigan.

Untitled - 189

One of the things I love most about Breaking Bad is that the creators and crew involved with the show trust the audience. They allow us to see goings on from a huge distance at times, and trust that we will accept what they are showing us. They trust that we – by now – know these characters well enough that we do not need to see their faces in close up, or that the lighting can be somewhat dim and we will still get what is going on.

The scenes in Hanks room with that very important Hank and Walt scene are quite dimly lit – in fact when I go to look at them as a thumbnail trying to choose images for this post, I can barely make out who is in them. And yet we got the message very clearly – we were given everything we needed to see and know.

The science of Breaking Bad – Bullet Points

Episode Count –
Thirty-seven episodes down, 25 to go

Got a thought? Share it here!

