Full Measure

Untitled - 68

With Jesse on the run and Mike in hot pursuit, Walt negotiates a bargain with Gus and concocts a disturbing plan to provide for his and Jesse’s safety.

Breaking Bad Season Three, Episode Thirteen “Full Measure” – [Official Text Credit: amctv.com]

~ Favourites ~

Favourite Gale line – “You don’t have to do this”

Favourite Chow line – “She has a Camry”

Favourite Gus line – “No rational person would do as you have done. Explain yourself.”

Favourite Saul line – “Yeah! Attorney-client privilege. I mean, that’s a big one. That’s something I provide for you. If I give up Pinkman, well, then you’re gonna be asking, “Ol’ Saul gives ’em up pretty easy. What’s to keep him from giving me up?” Y’see, so, then where’s the trust?”

Favourite Mike lines – “I assure you I could kill you from way over here if it makes you feel any better.” – “Walter. You’ve been busy.” – ” I trust the hole in the desert I’d leave you in.”

Favourite Walt line – “I saved your life, Jesse. Are you gonna save mine?”

Favourite Jesse line – “There’s got to be some other way. Maybe it’s better for you to just go the cops, alright? I mean, I can’t believe I’m saying that and all, but for your family. Hey, the DEA would love you, the shit you tell them. Federal Witness Protection, that’s a good deal. As for me, I’ll hit the road, yo. I’ll make it. We had a good run…but it’s over.”

Favourite Jesse/Walt exchange –

Untitled - 111

Walter: “I got my old job back. At least until they kill me and Gale takes over.”

Jesse: “So he’s their boy, huh?”

Walter: “He’s their boy.”

Jesse: “How long you think you got?”

Walter: “Well, he asks a lot of questions about the cooking process. I try to be as vague as possible but I got that guy Victor watching me, listening to every word I say. Maybe the only thing saving me is Gale’s fastidiousness. Once he feels confident that he knows my entire method..”

Jesse: “So what do we do?”

Walter: “You know what we do.”

Favourite scenes –

Untitled - 74

The scene with Gus and Walt.

Untitled - 109

Saul and Walt @ Laser Tag. SKEE BALL! Looks like a great place to hang out. Except for the fact that Jesse is *hiding* out there.

Untitled - 82

Welcome back to Gale.

Untitled - 99

Gale sings for us.

Notable Music – Gale singing “Crapa Pelada” by Quartetto Cetra (on youtube)

Ending Song – The Breaking Bad theme composed by Dave Porter

Jesse Lightbulb Moment –

Untitled - 113

There are no words for this one.

Notable Shots –

Untitled - 70

So many great shots this episode! The iconic confrontation scene.

Untitled - 78

And again.

Untitled - 76

Gus is Not Happy.

Untitled - 107

This closeup of Saul’s car.

Episode Running Time on DVD – 45m 22s

DVD Extras – Inside Breaking Bad – Full Measure; Inside Breaking Bad – Walt’s Car; Commentary on Full Measure with Vince Gilligan, Aaron Paul, Anna Gunn, Bob Odenkirk and Jonathan Banks; Deleted Scenes

Insider podcast – Breaking Bad editor Kelley Dixon discusses Episode 312 “Full Measure” with Vince Gilligan, Michelle MacLaren and Melissa Bernstein. Running time 57m01s. Click here for the MP3 file. Click here for podcasts via the Apple iTunes store – podcasts are free.

Links to other reviews of this episode – AV ClubAlan SepinwallThe TV Critic

Snoskred Notes –

This is one heck of a season finale. The ending is.. what a cliffhanger! And we can just go onto the next episode tomorrow – or even today – what about when this happened and people had to wait months and months for the next episode!?! EGADS the pain of the wait!

June 13, 2010 last episode of s3 airs
July 17, 2011 first episode of s4 airs

A long, long wait. Over a year. An especially long wait for a cliffhanger – and where a lot of people were thinking that Jesse might have missed, that Gale might have survived. However those who read this interview at least knew the outcome. Interview: ‘Breaking Bad’ creator Vince Gilligan post-mortems season three

Untitled - 60

This is what I find most amazing about Bryan Cranston. He is like a chameleon. This Walt, who we see in the teaser, looks almost nothing like the Walt we know today, or even the Walt we formerly knew with hair. And if you go see him in something like Argo, he looks and acts nothing like Walt at all.

Untitled - 86

This Mike scene with the balloons and the funky music, and the shoe, this why the Breaking Bad spinoff needs to happen, with much more Mike in it. Mike needs to be on teevee. He just does. There are so many great lines of his in this episode I had trouble narrowing it down to the best 3.

Untitled - 64

This poor car has been so beaten up!

Interesting trivia from the Breaking Bad Wikia – The song ‘Crapa Pelada’, which can be heard in Gale’s apartment, is about an Italian bald cook.

Untitled - 90

Also – The Mandarin translation of the exchange between Chow and his Secretary: “Peng, are you still there?” “Of course I’m still here! Where else can I go?! What is going on?! I have a husband and kid at home, I have to go home and take care of them! You do not pay me enough, somebody got killed right in front of me!”

Walt begging for his life – and people might think he was about to give up Jesse, but they would be wrong – he wants to call Jesse to tell him – you gotta do this, or else.

The science of Breaking Bad – Full Measure

Episode Count –

Thirty-three episodes down, 29 to go

Got a thought? Share it here!

