Sunset

s03e069

As Walt settles into his new surroundings, Walter, Jr. demands answers about his parents’ relationship. Hank’s investigation creates an immediate problem for Walt and Jesse.

Breaking Bad Season Three, Episode Six “Sunset” – [Official Text Credit: amctv.com]

~ Favourites ~

Favourite Walt Jr line – “It’s not like I get a vote”

Favourite Skyler line – “Do you have any thought about how we’re going to approach this with Walter Jr?”

Favourite Hank line – “Yeah? Tell you what Pinkman, probable cause or no, I’ll give you three seconds to get your ass out here! 1, 2.”

Favourite Marie line – “Are you ever coming home?”

Favourite Gus line – “North of the border is my territory. My say. As a show of respect…I say yes. The agent’s name is Hank Schrader. May his death satisfy you”

s03e065

Favourite Badger line – “”That is awesome, Jesse! I feel like somebody took my brain out and boiled it in, like, boiling hot, like…like, Anthrax.””

Favourite Saul line – “Well, next time plan for it, would ya? The Starship Enterprise had a self-destruct button. I’m just saying.”

Favourite Gale line – “Yes. I am a Nerd.”

Favourite Walt line – “And do what exactly? I mean, what…the thing, the thing is the size of a, of a…It’s RV size! I mean, where do I go to make an RV disappear? I’m not David Copperfield!”

Favourite Jesse line – “This is my own private domicile and I will not be harassed…bitch!”

s03e0615

Favourite Jesse/Walt exchange –

Walter: “He’s here.”

Jesse: “Who’s here?”

Walter: “You led him right to us.”

Favourite scenes –

Every single scene in this episode I love.

Notable Music – “Ginza Samba” (on youtube) by Vince Guaraldi & Bola Sete – Making meth with Walt and Gale has a beautiful piano soundtrack. Unlike some of the previous collages with Jesse.

Ending Song – The Breaking Bad theme composed by Dave Porter

Jesse Lightbulb Moment – Starting again and keeping it low key with Badger and Skinny Pete.

Notable Shots –

s03e067

Having a steel mezzanine allows for some interesting shots in the superlab.

s03e0614

Jesse working on the numbers via his glass table.

s03e0624

This gorgeous sunset shot of Gus and The Cousins.

Episode Running Time on DVD – 45m 22s

DVD Extras – Inside Breaking Bad – Sunset –

Insider podcast – Breaking Bad editor Kelley Dixon discusses Episode 306 “Sunset” with Vince Gilligan, Writer/director John Shiban, Music Supervisor Thomas Golubic, Composer Dave Porter. Running time 51m17s. Click here for the MP3 file. Click here for podcasts via the Apple iTunes store – podcasts are free.

Links to other reviews of this episode – AV ClubAlan SepinwallThe TV Critic

Snoskred Notes –

There’s something about episode 6 of a season of Breaking Bad. Last season episode 6 “Peekaboo” was my favourite. This season, episode 6 “Sunset” is also my favourite and it contains my favourite Jesse line from Season 3.

“This is my own private domicile and I will not be harassed…bitch!”

s03e0625

Hello to one of my favourite Jesse outfits of all time – the $ tee with a cardigan during the Badger and Skinny Pete scene. How very.. preppy! Almost damn collegiate even. Also, Jesse has bought himself a Papasan chair.

s03e0626

This outfit is followed later in the episode by one of my favourite Jesse tees of all time – the zombie with what looks like Japanese Text. He pairs this tee with a cardigan with an argyle pattern on it, for the RV scene.

s03e068

Hello and welcome to Gale Boetticher – played by David Costabile who we meet for the first time.

Also a big hello to the amazingly well informed Old Joe – played by Larry Hankin.

Did you happen to spot what Walt was reading when Hank called? If not, pay much attention. There will be a test later. 🙂

s03e0612

The science of Breaking Bad – Sunset

Episode Count –

Twenty-six episodes down, 36 to go

Got a thought? Share it here!

